Contact Clock Question Basket Search User Store Facebook Mail Instagram Twitter

Leabhar Na hAthghabhala: Poems of Repossession

by Louis de Paor

This is the first comprehensive critical anthology of modern poetry in Irish with English translations. It forms a sequel to Seán Ó Tuama and Thomas Kinsella's pioneering anthology, 'An Duanaire 1900-1900 / Poems of the Dispossessed' (1981), but features many more poems in covering the work of 25 poets from the past century. It includes poems by Pádraig Mac Piarais and Liam S. Gógan from the revival period (1893-1939), and a generous selection from the work of Máirtín Ó Direáin, Seán Ó Ríordáin and Máire Mhac an tSaoi, who transformed writing in Irish in the decades following the Second World War, before the 'Innti' poets - Michael Davitt, Liam Ó Muirthile, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Cathal Ó Searcaigh, Biddy Jenkinson - and others developed new possibilities for poetry in Irish in the 1970s and 80s. It also includes work by more recent poets such as Colm Breathnach, Gearóid Mac Lochlainn, Míchaeál Ó Cuaig and Áine Ní Ghlinn.

ISBN: 9781780372990

€ 18.00  Save €0.75 (RRP €18.75)

In Stock.

This product is only available for collection at our University of Galway campus bookshop.
Home delivery of this product is not currently available.

Date of Publication: 28/04/2016

Cover of Leabhar Na hAthghabhala: Poems of Repossession - Louis de Paor - 9781780372990PaperbackPeek Inside

Leabhar Na hAthghabhala: Poems of Repossession also appears in these Categories: