Contact Clock Question Basket Search User Store Facebook Mail Instagram Twitter

The Secret Hen House Theatre

by Helen Peters

ISBN: 9780857630650

Beloved Waterstones Prize-shortlisted novel by Helen Peters about the ups and downs of running a family farm AND trying to stage a secret play in a secret hen house theatre!

Since the death of her mother, Hannah's family life has been somewhat chaotic. Her father is absorbed by running their dilapidated farm, and the four children are increasingly left to their own devices. These include "farming" each room of the house, looking after an enormous pet sheep called Jasper, and writing and directing plays in a disused hen house. But when the farm is threatened with demolition, Hannah determines to save it and realise her dreams at the same time...

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Prize, this is a brilliant story of eccentric family life where the children's imaginations run as free as the farmyard animals. From the award-winning author of Evie's Ghost, Anna at War, The Farm Beneath the Water and the Jasmine Green series for younger readers, this is perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Emma Carroll and Frank Cottrell Boyce


This edition is reissued with a beautiful new cover.

320 pages.

Re-issue Edition

€ 9.99 

Supplier Out of Stock.

Availability Uncertain

Date of Publication: 06/06/2024

Cover of The Secret Hen House Theatre - Helen Peters - 9780857630650PaperbackPeek Inside

The Secret Hen House Theatre also appears in these Categories:

Age 9-12 Older Books