Contact Clock Question Basket Search User Store Facebook Mail Instagram Twitter

Hagstone

by Sinead Gleeson

The haunting debut novel from beloved, Irish bestselling author, Sinead Gleeson.

The sea is steady for now. The land readies itself. What can be done with the woman on the cliff?

On a wild and rugged island cut off and isolated to some, artist Nell feels the island is her home. It is the source of inspiration for her art, rooted in landscape, folklore and the feminine. The mysterious Inions, a commune of women who have travelled there from all over the world, consider it a place of refuge and safety, of solace in nature.

All the islanders live alongside the strange murmurings that seem to emanate from within the depths of the island, a sound that is almost supernatural - a Summoning as the Inions call it. One day, a letter arrives at Nell's door from the reclusive Inions who invite Nell into the commune for a commission to produce a magnificent art piece to celebrate their long history. In its creation, Nell will discover things about the community and about herself that will challenge everything she thought she knew.

Beautifully written, prescient and eerily haunting, Sinead Gleeon's fiction debut takes in the darker side of human nature and the mysteries of faith and the natural world. A novel from one of our most beloved literary voices, this is perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood and Sarah Moss.

272 pages.

ISBN: 9780008626655

€ 15.99  Save €2.75 (RRP €18.74)

In Stock.

Usually despatched in 2-5 working days.

Date of Publication: 11/04/2024

  
Cover of Hagstone - Sinead Gleeson - 978000862665515% offTrade Paperback

Hagstone also appears in these Categories:

Fiction Bestsellers

Original Fiction

Our Bestsellers