The Ruin

by Dervla McTiernan


Nominated for the Kate O'Brien Award at the Limerick Literary Festival 2019
Shortlisted for both the An Post Irish Book Awards RT… Radio 1 The Ryan Tubridy Show Listener's Choice Award and the An Post Irish Book Awards Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year Award for 2018.

***THE IRISH BESTSELLER*** 'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES 'Heartbreaking' CAZ FREAR 'Terrific' LIZ NUGENT ***** Cormac Reilly is about to reopen a case it took him twenty years to forget On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? ***** This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear. ***** Praise for THE RUIN: 'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER 'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR 'THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE 'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! ALEX GRAY 'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE 'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY

ISBN: 9780751569315

€ 10.95 

In Stock.

Usually despatched in 1-2 working days

Date of Publication: 06/09/2018

  
Cover of The Ruin - Dervla McTiernan - 9780751569315Paperback

The Ruin also appears in these Categories: